Zagreb, 21 January 2020

Mr David Maria Sassoli, President of the European Parliament
Mr Gordan Grlić Radman, President-in-Office of the General Affairs Council
Ms Dubravka Šuica, Vice-President of the European Commission

Honourable President Sassoli, President-in-Office Grlić Radman and Vice-President Šuica,

On 20 January 2020, at the Meeting of the Chairpersons, COSAC pursued their discussion about the Conference on the future of Europe. The importance of such a Conference, inviting to a substantive, open discussion on all strategic topics, as well as institutional questions, became obvious.

This is why national parliaments/chambers must be involved in the Conference and its steering bodies and thus must also be part of the agenda setting. National parliaments/chambers, as well as the European Parliament, are not merely spectators but are equally responsible for shaping the future of the EU.

We therefore insist that the number of participating members of national parliaments/chambers should be at least equal to the number of participating members of the European Parliament.

In view of the ambitious timetable to set up the Conference and to agree on procedural issues, we thank you for taking our considerations into account.

With assurances of highest regards,

Domagoj Ivan Milošević

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Croatian Hrvatski sabor

Gunther Krichbaum

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the German Bundestag

Guido Wolf

Chair of the Committee on European Union Questions of the German Bundesrat

Satu Hassi

Chair of the Grand Committee of the Finnish Eduskunta

Reinhold Lopatka

Chair of Permanent Subcommittee on EU Affairs of the Austrian Nationalrat

Christian Buchmann

Chair of the EU Committee of the Austrian Bundesrat

Ria Oomen - Ruijten

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Dutch Eerste Kamer

Hayke Veldman

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Dutch Tweede Kamer

Stanislaw Tyszka

Chair of the European Union Affairs Committee of the Polish Sejm

Bogdan Klich

Chair of the Foreign and European Union Affairs Committee of the Polish Senat

Richard Hörcsik

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs of the Hungarian Országgyűlés

Karin Brouwers

Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs of the Belgian Senaat / Sénat

Patrick Dewael

President of the House and Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs of the Belgian Kamer van volksvertegenwoordigers / Chambre des représentants

Anneli Ott

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Estonian Riigikogu

Ľuboš Blaha

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Slovak Národná rada

Nikitas Kaklamanis

Vice-President of the Parliament and Chair of the Committee on European Affairs of the Greek Voulí ton Ellínon

Václav Hampl

Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs of the Czech Sénat

Ondřej Benešík

Chair of the EU Affairs Committee of the Czech Poslanecká sněmovna

Eva Kjer Hansen

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Danish Folketinget

Igor Peček

Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs of the Slovenian Državni zbor

Bojan Kekec

Chair of the Commission for International Relations and European Affairs of the Slovenian Državni svet

Gabriela Cretu

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Romanian Senat

Angel Tîlvăr

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Romanian Camera Deputatilor

Dragomir Stoynev

in the capacity of the Chair of the Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds of the Bulgarian Narodno sabranie

Hon. Emanuel Mallia

Chair of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee of the Maltese Kamra tad-Deputati

Jean Bizet

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the French Sénat

Sabine Thillaye

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the French Assemblée nationale

Ettore Antonio Licheri

Chair of the European Union Policies Committee of the Italian Senato della Repubblica

Sergio Battelli

Chair of the European Union Policies Committee of the Italian Camera dei deputati

Yiorgos Lillikas

Chair of the House Standing Committee on Foreign and European Affairs of the Cypriot Vouli ton Antiprosopon

Yves Cruchten

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Luxembourg Chambre des députés / Die Abgeordnetenkammer

Vita Anda Terauda

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Latvian Saeima

Gediminas Kirkilas

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs of the Lithuanian Seimas

Capoulas Santos

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Portuguese Assembleia da República